Jump to content

Week 6 Official Game Thread - CHI @ WAS, MNF, Oct 13, 8:15PM CDT, ABC, CHI +4.5


adam

Recommended Posts

On 10/18/2025 at 3:38 PM, adam said:

The Long Snapper is considered a defenseless player when snapping the ball with his head down. On both of the last two kicks, the block and the GWFG, Payne is clearly on Daly's back instantly, and using him as leverage.

On the previous kicks, Payne would just rush the gap between the LS and the G, but in these two he was going over the back of Daly, which didn't give him a chance to even attempt to block him.

In the MIA game, this was called against the defense.

 

block.jpg

noblock.jpg

Sorry, but they’re not going to call that often. He’s hitting the A-Gap and getting squeezed into the snapper. Arm on the snapper’s back? Sure. But 99% of the time that’s not getting called unless it’s worse and more direct with the snapper.

Also, like I said before, there is no timing mechanism to the protection rule. Not one, two, or ten seconds. It’s all based on the officials’ perception of whether or not the snapper has had enough time to defend himself. Some players at lower levels, along with their bonehead coaches, think they just have to keep their head down for an extended period and that automatically results in indefinite protection. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 125
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...